Skilled Worker

Immigration: Skilled Workers

The Point System


The point system measures six factors related to the applicant and assigns a score to each factor. If the applicant’s total score meets the pass mark then they potentially qualify for immigration to Canada under the Skilled Worker category. A total of 100 points are available and the pass mark is currently set at 67. The factors measured under the point system are:


Other Requirements


Aside from having an acceptable points score, there are other minimum requirements:

    1. The applicant must have at least one year of skilled work experience within the last 10 years.

    2. The applicant must meet minimum language benchmarks.

    3. The applicant must complete educational assessments on foreign educational credentials.

    4. The applicant must meet all requirements of the new Express Entry system.